Who we are

We are a Society with nearly 100 singing members from a wide variety of backgrounds. Some are professional musicians, and some are discovering for the first time the delights of live music-making. We have been singing for many years and celebrated our 85th anniversary in 2014. As that year was also the 100th anniversary of the start of the First World War we performed Benjamin Britten’s War Requiem at the Aylesbury Waterside Theatre in May. The society was joined by choirs from several Buckinghamshire schools as well as the County Youth Orchestra. Dame Felicity Lott, our president, started out her professional life as a soloist in one of our concerts and kindly agreed to perform with us for this anniversary concert.

In November 2013 we also held a Bring and Sing performance of Fauré’s Requiem and the Cantique de Jean Racine. This was held at Amersham Free Church and over £2000 was raised for charity.

Although we are named for the Amersham and Chesham Bois area, there are no restrictions on the location of members. As long as you can get to the rehearsals and the concert you can live anywhere.

In addition to the concerts, the society holds a Christmas party after the December concert each year and has a social get together at the annual AGM in July; there are also occasional ad hoc social events such as coffee mornings. There are also opportunities for members to sing in smaller choirs that are put together for specific events. These include tours to our ‘twin’ choirs in Germany and America; occasional performances at weddings and carol concerts at Christmas. There is an active Friends of Amchor organisation which provides support to the choir.

The officers of the society are as follows:


  • President Dame Felicity Lott DBE105
  • Vice-President Sheila Fry
  • Vice-President Sheila Ball
  • Chairman Hugh Guilford
  • Director of Music Nick Austin 
  • Accompanist Janet Churchouse
  • Secretary Jean Slater
  • Treasurer Elizabeth Pooley
  • Publicity Claire O’Beirne
  • Librarian Jane Micklem

Other committee members are:

  • Paul Berry
  • Juliet Crussell
  • Jenny Harrison
  • Caroline Bayes

Our Membership Secretary is Harriet Scott.